Day of Action 

need help? email info@wacoalition.com

Day of Action

Please take a few minutes to email your legislators AND your local school board members to ask them to support universal screening for Highly Capable Programs.

House Bill 1611 “Advancing Equity in Programs for Highly Capable Students” fell just short of passing during last year’s legislative session. This bill will be re-introduced in January 2023.

Help us build momentum for this important equity issue by contacting your legislators and school board members to show your support for universal screening.

Here’s how to do it.

(Be sure to scroll to the bottom of the page to email your school board after you’re done with your district’s legislators)

3 Steps to Email Your Legislators

Universal screening is recognized as the best method for equitably identifying students from traditionally underrepresented populations for highly capable programs in schools, yet it is not part of current Washington state law. Many districts are not using this important best practice. In 2022, HB 1611 “Advancing Equity in Programs for Highly Capable Students” required universal screening; it passed unanimously on the House floor and both education committees, but was never called for a Senate Floor vote. Universal screening will be re-introduced with a new bill number for the 2023 session and I strongly urge your support when it comes to a vote. Learn more: https://wacoalition.com/identification/

District 1

Sen. Derek Stanford, D
derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Davina Duerr, D
davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Shelley Kloba, D
shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov

District 2

Sen. Jim McCune, R
jim.mccune@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Andrew Barkis, R
andrew.barkis@leg.wa.gov

Rep. J.T. Wilcox, R
jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

District 3

Sen. Andy Billig, D
andy.billig@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Marcus Riccelli, D
marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Timm Ormsby, D
timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov

District 4

Sen. Mike Padden, R
mike.padden@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Rob Chase, R
rob.chase@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Bob McCaslin, R
bob.mccaslin@leg.wa.gov

District 5

Sen. Mark Mullet, D
mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Bill Ramos, D
bill.ramos@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Lisa Callan, D
lisa.callan@leg.wa.gov

District 6

Sen. Jeff Holy, R
jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mike Volz, R
mike.volz@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jenny Graham, R
jenny.graham@leg.wa.gov

District 7

Sen. Shelly Short, R
shelly.short@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jacqueline Maycumber, R
jacqueline.maycumber@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joel Kretz, R
joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

District 8

Sen. Sharon Brown, R
sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Brad Klippert, R
brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Matt Boehnke, R
matt.boehnke@leg.wa.gov

District 9

Sen. Mark Schoesler, R
mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mary Dye, R
mary.dye@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joe Schmick, R
joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov

District 10

Sen. Ron Muzzall, R
ron.muzzall@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Greg Gilday, R
greg.gilday@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dave Paul, D
dave.paul@leg.wa.gov

District 11

Sen. Bob Hasegawa, D
bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov

Rep. David Hackney, D
david.hackney@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Steve Berquist, D
steve.berquist@leg.wa.gov

District 12

Sen. Brad Hawkins, R
brad.hawkins@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Keith Goehner, R
keith.goehner@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mike Steele, R
mike.steele@leg.wa.gov

District 13

Sen. Judy Warnick, R
judy.warnick@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Tom Dent, R
tom.dent@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Alex Ybarra, R
alex.ybarra@leg.wa.gov

District 14

Sen. Curtis King, R
curtis.king@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Chris Corry, R
chris.corry@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Gina R. Mosbrucker, R
gina.mosbrucker@leg.wa.gov

District 15

Sen. Jim Honeyford, R
jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Bruce Chandler, R
bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jeremie Dufault, R
jeremie.dufault@leg.wa.gov

District 16

Sen. Perry Dozier, R
perry.dozier@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mark Klicker, R
mark.klicker@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Skyler Rude, R
skyler.rude@leg.wa.gov

District 17

Sen. Lynda Wilson, R
lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Vicki Kraft, R
vicki.kraft@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Paul Harris, R
paul.harris@leg.wa.gov

District 18

Sen. Ann Rivers, R
ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Brandon Vick, R
brandon.vick@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Larry A. Hoff, R
larry.hoff@leg.wa.gov

District 19

Sen. Jeff Wilson, R
jeff.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jim Walsh, R
jim.walsh@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joel McEntire, R
joel.mcentire@leg.wa.gov

District 20

Sen. John E. Braun, R
john.braun@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Peter Abbarno, R
peter.abbarno@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Ed Orcutt, R
ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov

District 21

Sen. Marko Liias, D
marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Strom Peterson, D
strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Lillian Ortiz-Self, D
lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

District 22

Sen. Sam Hunt, D
sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Laurie Dolan, D
laurie.dolan@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jessica Bateman, D
jessica.bateman@leg.wa.gov

District 23

Sen. Christine Rolfes, D
christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Tarra Simmons, D
tarra.simmons@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Drew Hansen, D
drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov

District 24

Sen. Kevin Van De Wege, D
kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mike Chapman, D
mike.chapman@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Steve Tharinger, D
steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov

District 25

Sen. Chris Gildon, R
chris.gildon@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Kelly Chambers, R
kelly.chambers@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Cyndy Jacobsen, R
cyndy.jacobsen@leg.wa.gov

District 26

Sen. Emily Randall, D
emily.randall@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jesse Young, R
jesse.young@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Michelle Caldier, R
michelle.caldier@leg.wa.gov

District 27

Sen. Yasmin Trudeau, D
yasmin.trudeau@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Laurie Jinkins, D
laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jake Fey, D
jake.fey@leg.wa.gov

District 28

Sen. T’wina Nobles, D
twina.nobles@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mari Leavitt, D
mari.leavitt@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dan Bronoske, D
dan.bronoske@leg.wa.gov

District 29

Sen. Steve Conway, D
steve.conway@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Melanie Morgan, D
melanie.morgan@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Steve Kirby, D
steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

District 30

Sen. Claire Wilson, D
claire.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jamila Taylor, D
jamila.taylor@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jesse Johnson, D
jesse.johnson@leg.wa.gov

District 31

Sen. Phil Fortunato, R
phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Drew Stokesbary, R
drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Eric Robertson, R
eric.robertson@leg.wa.gov

District 32

Sen. Jesse Salomon, D
jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Cindy Ryu, D
cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Lauren Davis, D
lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov

District 33

Sen. Karen Keiser, D
karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Tina Orwall, D
tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mia Gregerson, D
mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov

District 34

Sen. Joe Nguyen, D
joe.nguyen@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Eileen Cody, D
eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon, D
joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

District 35

Sen. Tim Sheldon, D
tim.sheldon@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dan Griffey, R
dan.griffey@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Drew MacEwen, R
drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov

District 36

Sen. Reuven Carlyle, D
reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Noel Frame, D
noel.frame@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Liz Berry, D
liz.berry@leg.wa.gov

District 37

Sen. Rebecca Saldana, D
rebecca.saldana@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Sharon Tomiko Santos, D
sharon.santos@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Kirsten Harris-Talley, D
kirsten.harris-talley@leg.wa.gov

District 38

Sen. June Robinson, D
june.robinson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Emily Wicks, D
emily.wicks@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mike Sells, D
mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

District 39

Sen. Keith Wagoner, R
keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Robert J. Sutherland, R
robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Carolyn Eslick, R
carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov

District 40

Sen. Liz Lovelett, D
liz.lovelett@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Debra Lekanoff, D
debra.lekanoff@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Alex Ramel, D
alex.ramel@leg.wa.gov

District 41

Sen. Lisa Wellman,
lisa.wellman@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Tana Senn, D
tana.senn@leg.wa.gov

Rep. My-Linh Thai, D
my-linh.thai@leg.wa.gov

District 42

Sen. Simon Sefzik, R
simon.sefzik@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Alicia Rule, D
alicia.rule@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Sharon Shewmake, D
sharon.shewmake@leg.wa.gov

District 43

Sen. Jamie Pedersen, D
jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Nicole Macri, D
nicole.macri@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Frank Chopp, D
frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

District 44

Sen. John Lovick, D
john.lovick@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Brandy Donaghy, D
brandy.donaghy@leg.wa.gov

Rep. April Berg, D
april.berg@leg.wa.gov

District 45

Sen. Manka Dhingra, D
manka.dhingra@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Roger Goodman, D
roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Larry Springer, D
larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

District 46

Sen. David Frockt, D
david.frockt@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Gerry Pollet, D
gerry.pollet@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Javier Valdez, D
javier.valdez@leg.wa.gov

District 47

Sen. Mona Das, D
mona.das@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Debra Entenman, D
debra.entenman@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Pat Sullivan, D
pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

District 48

Sen. Patricia Kuderer, D
patricia.kuderer@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Vandana Slatter, D
vandana.slatter@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Amy Wallen, D
amy.wallen@leg.wa.gov

District 49

Sen. Annette Cleveland, D
annette.cleveland@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Sharon Wylie, D
sharon.wylie@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Monica Jurado Stonier, D
monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov

2 Steps to Email Your School Board

Do you know if your school district already uses universal screening to identify HiCap students? This is a great opportunity to advocate for this important equity practice with your school board members. School board directors are your elected officials and represent YOU in the school governance process.

Step 1: Do an Internet Search to find the emails for your school board members:

   Search: [School District Name] school board email

   For example: Tacoma school board email

Step 2: Send an email to your school board members with this text (or write your own!):

Dear [insert name of school board member here]:

Is our school district using universal screening for identifying students for highly capable programs? This is extremely important for equity. Districts that fail to use universal screening disproportionately identify white and Asian students for their programs while missing students of color, students living in poverty, and multilingual learners. Not only that, they typically miss twice-exceptional children—that is, students who are Highly Capable and who also are ADD/ADHD or who also have learning disabilities or who also are on the autism spectrum. Districts that don’t use universal screening often even disproportionately identify boys! Districts that have moved to universal screening have found that it is simpler and as much as 50% less expensive than referral-based approaches.

I urge you to contact the Highly Capable coordinator in our district to find out what practices we are using to equitably identify students.  Learn more: https://wacoalition.com/identification/

 

Give Today

Paypal