Contact Your Legislators 

need Help? contact us

contact your school board

get involved (coming soon)

our newsroom

Step Two











District 1

Sen. Derek Stanford, D

Rep. Davina Duerr, D

Rep. Shelley Kloba, D

District 2

Sen. Jim McCune, R

Rep. Andrew Barkis, R

Rep. J.T. Wilcox, R

District 3

Sen. Andy Billig, D

Rep. Marcus Riccelli, D

Rep. Timm Ormsby, D

District 4

Sen. Mike Padden, R

Rep. Rob Chase, R

Rep. Bob McCaslin, R

District 5

Sen. Mark Mullet, D

Rep. Bill Ramos, D

Rep. Lisa Callan, D

District 6

Sen. Jeff Holy, R

Rep. Mike Volz, R

Rep. Jenny Graham, R

District 7

Sen. Shelly Short, R

Rep. Jacqueline Maycumber, R

Rep. Joel Kretz, R

District 8

Sen. Sharon Brown, R

Rep. Brad Klippert, R

Rep. Matt Boehnke, R

District 9

Sen. Mark Schoesler, R

Rep. Mary Dye, R

Rep. Joe Schmick, R

District 10

Sen. Ron Muzzall, R

Rep. Greg Gilday, R

Rep. Dave Paul, D

District 11

Sen. Bob Hasegawa, D

Rep. David Hackney, D

Rep. Steve Berquist, D

District 12

Sen. Brad Hawkins, R

Rep. Keith Goehner, R

Rep. Mike Steele, R

District 13

Sen. Judy Warnick, R

Rep. Tom Dent, R

Rep. Alex Ybarra, R

District 14

Sen. Curtis King, R

Rep. Chris Corry, R

Rep. Gina R. Mosbrucker, R

District 15

Sen. Jim Honeyford, R

Rep. Bruce Chandler, R

Rep. Jeremie Dufault, R

District 16

Sen. Perry Dozier, R

Rep. Mark Klicker, R

Rep. Skyler Rude, R

District 17

Sen. Lynda Wilson, R

Rep. Vicki Kraft, R

Rep. Paul Harris, R

District 18

Sen. Ann Rivers, R

Rep. Brandon Vick, R

Rep. Larry A. Hoff, R

District 19

Sen. Jeff Wilson, R

Rep. Jim Walsh, R

Rep. Joel McEntire, R

District 20

Sen. John E. Braun, R

Rep. Peter Abbarno, R

Rep. Ed Orcutt, R

District 21

Sen. Marko Liias, D

Rep. Strom Peterson, D

Rep. Lillian Ortiz-Self, D

District 22

Sen. Sam Hunt, D

Rep. Laurie Dolan, D

Rep. Jessica Bateman, D

District 23

Sen. Christine Rolfes, D

Rep. Tarra Simmons, D

Rep. Drew Hansen, D

District 24

Sen. Kevin Van De Wege, D

Rep. Mike Chapman, D

Rep. Steve Tharinger, D

District 25

Sen. Chris Gildon, R

Rep. Kelly Chambers, R

Rep. Cyndy Jacobsen, R

District 26

Sen. Emily Randall, D

Rep. Jesse Young, R

Rep. Michelle Caldier, R

District 27

Sen. Yasmin Trudeau, D

Rep. Laurie Jinkins, D

Rep. Jake Fey, D

District 28

Sen. T’wina Nobles, D

Rep. Mari Leavitt, D

Rep. Dan Bronoske, D

District 29

Sen. Steve Conway, D

Rep. Melanie Morgan, D

Rep. Steve Kirby, D

District 30

Sen. Claire Wilson, D

Rep. Jamila Taylor, D

Rep. Jesse Johnson, D

District 31

Sen. Phil Fortunato, R

Rep. Drew Stokesbary, R

Rep. Eric Robertson, R

District 32

Sen. Jesse Salomon, D

Rep. Cindy Ryu, D

Rep. Lauren Davis, D

District 33

Sen. Karen Keiser, D

Rep. Tina Orwall, D

Rep. Mia Gregerson, D

District 34

Sen. Joe Nguyen, D

Rep. Eileen Cody, D

Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon, D

District 35

Sen. Tim Sheldon, D

Rep. Dan Griffey, R

Rep. Drew MacEwen, R

District 36

Sen. Reuven Carlyle, D

Rep. Noel Frame, D

Rep. Liz Berry, D

District 37

Sen. Rebecca Saldana, D

Rep. Sharon Tomiko Santos, D

Rep. Kirsten Harris-Talley, D

District 38

Sen. June Robinson, D

Rep. Emily Wicks, D

Rep. Mike Sells, D

District 39

Sen. Keith Wagoner, R

Rep. Robert J. Sutherland, R

Rep. Carolyn Eslick, R

District 40

Sen. Liz Lovelett, D

Rep. Debra Lekanoff, D

Rep. Alex Ramel, D

District 41

Sen. Lisa Wellman,

Rep. Tana Senn, D

Rep. My-Linh Thai, D

District 42

Sen. Simon Sefzik, R

Rep. Alicia Rule, D

Rep. Sharon Shewmake, D

District 43

Sen. Jamie Pedersen, D

Rep. Nicole Macri, D

Rep. Frank Chopp, D

District 44

Sen. John Lovick, D

Rep. Brandy Donaghy, D

Rep. April Berg, D

District 45

Sen. Manka Dhingra, D

Rep. Roger Goodman, D

Rep. Larry Springer, D

District 46

Sen. David Frockt, D

Rep. Gerry Pollet, D

Rep. Javier Valdez, D

District 47

Sen. Mona Das, D

Rep. Debra Entenman, D

Rep. Pat Sullivan, D

District 48

Sen. Patricia Kuderer, D

Rep. Vandana Slatter, D

Rep. Amy Wallen, D

District 49

Sen. Annette Cleveland, D

Rep. Sharon Wylie, D

Rep. Monica Jurado Stonier, D

2 Steps to Email Your School Board

Do you know if your school district already uses universal screening to identify HiCap students? This is a great opportunity to advocate for this important equity practice with your school board members. School board directors are your elected officials and represent YOU in the school governance process.

Step 1: Do an Internet Search to find the emails for your school board members:

   Search: [School District Name] school board email

   For example: Tacoma school board email

Step 2: Send an email to your school board members with this text (or write your own!):

Dear [insert name of school board member here]:

Is our school district using universal screening for identifying students for highly capable programs? This is extremely important for equity. Districts that fail to use universal screening disproportionately identify white and Asian students for their programs while missing students of color, students living in poverty, and multilingual learners. Not only that, they typically miss twice-exceptional children—that is, students who are Highly Capable and who also are ADD/ADHD or who also have learning disabilities or who also are on the autism spectrum. Districts that don’t use universal screening often even disproportionately identify boys! Districts that have moved to universal screening have found that it is simpler and as much as 50% less expensive than referral-based approaches.

I urge you to contact the Highly Capable coordinator in our district to find out what practices we are using to equitably identify students.  Learn more:


Give Today